

Saturday December the 4th, readers Club

<u>28th Torino Film Festival</u>

<u>Closing Press Conference and Awards with Gianni Amelio and Emanuela</u> <u>Martini.</u>

Gianni Amelio: Let' start with data. In nine days we've had more than 420 projection slots (and don't ask me what it means because I don't know...). Friday evening accreditation counted up to 2332 against the 2144 of last year. Among them press accreditation were 506 versus the 430 of the passed year. Over 176.500 tickets were sold during this edition, while in 2009 barely 13.200. Revenue has increased 15 percent, counting over 166.000 euros on Friday night.

We must thank heartily all those who've sponsored the Festival: Ministero per i Beni e le Attività Culturali il Ministero per i Beni e le Attività Culturali - Direzione Generale Cinema, Regione Piemonte, la Provincia and Città di Torino; Compagnia di Sanpaolo and Fondazione Crt; main sponsors (Intesa Sanpaolo, Fondiaria Sai e Lancia), sponsors (Persol e Mont Blanc), partners (Rai, Kodak, Cult, Digima, Max, Rear, Martini ed Ente dello Spettacolo), internet media partner (Film.it, Movieplayer.it, Cinecittà News.it) and Tv media partner (Videogruppo).

Startin from the bottom:

«.doc selection Award» – consisting in the participation to [CINEMA.DOC] documentary in the theater, the winner is Il Pezzo mancante by Giovanni Piperino.

«The Ucca - Venti città» Award – consisting in a free release in the Ucca circuit theaters in at least twenty cities, Ucca National Jury. Composing the Jury Mauro Brondi, Francesca Panebianco and Paola scarnati – goes to Marco Santarelli for Scuolamedia. A Special Mention goes to Andrea Fenoglio and Diego Mometti presenting Il popolo che manca.

«Avanti!» Award – consisting in the distribution within Lab 80 Film's Cultural Circuit. Composing the Jury Chiara Boffelli, Maurizio Cau, Fiammetta Girola, Enrico Nosei and Andrea Zanoli – goes to: Archipel by Giacomo Abruzzese, Una scuola italiana by Angelo Loy and Giulio Cederna and Il popolo che manca by Andrea Fenoglio and Diego Mometti.

«Achille Valdata» Award – in collaboration with La Stampa – TorinoSette. *The jury, composed by twenty readers of* TorinoSette. *The Award for Best full length movie in Torino 28 competition, to* Winter's Bone *by Debra Granik (Usa) for its "script, direction and the excellent protagonist of a wonderful adventure through a usually hidden America".*

«Invito alla Scuola Holden» Award – prize for the best script in Torino 28, composing the Jury the students of the Corso Biennale di Scrittura e Storytelling. The winner is Winter's Bone by Debra Granik for its "balanced writing, female power, unspoken meaning".

«Cipputi» Award – composing the Jury Altan, Fabrizio Gifuni and Cosimo Torlo. Altan personally assigns the award to: I'll read first so you can try guessing which movie it is "imperceptibly confusing the boundary between reality and fiction into a narrative structure that's original and gives a great emotional impact. Cordòn documents the true story of a marimba player, melting in its stubbornness and ability to adapt. If traditional Guatemalan music is facing a crisis because people want Rock, Don Alfonso makes his instrument Rock. The story wisely mixes humor and drama becoming a paradigm of what's happening in many jobs: in which the result is uncertain but there might not be other ways to survive". Las marimbas del infierno by Julio Hernández Cordón.

«Cult» Award – Film of reality. President of the Jury Carlo Antonelli, in the Jury Joshua Siegel and Eva Truffaut. The winner of this Award for Best International Documentary is: motivating "within a strong and intense selection which dares the conventions of film of reality – movies which reveal the limits of biography and autobiography, witnessing the trauma of its effects and investigate the politics of image production, particularly referring to "official versions" Ben Russell and his Let Each One Go Where He May, a movie which overturns the cliche of ethnographic film, provoking and fascinating through irreverent and oneiric sensibility.

«Fipresci» Award – President of the Jury Jan Lumholdt (Sweeden), in the JuryGábor Gelencsér (Hungary), Victor Matizen (Russia), Thomas Rothschild (Germany), Roberto Tirapelle (Italy) assigns the Award to: motivating "We chose the winner from an array of five extremely valid nominees, equally exceptional. This movie represents a very original voice in high quality Noir film, with an impressive use of locations, of photography and not least of music. Contemporaneously it offers us a surprising interpretation by one of the most refined American (and half Swedish) actors" Let's hope to see many more works by the winner: the Canadian Ed Gass-Donnelly, here in his second direction, for Small Town Murder Songs.

«Chicca Richelmy» Award – Prize for the best short made in Piedmont. In the Jury twenty readers of TorinoSette *is assigned to Luigi Sorbilli presenting* Divergenze, motivating "for the director's ability of conveying incomprehension in such a simple way in a few minutes"

«Italiana.corti Award» – in the Jury Pierpaolo Capovilla, Marzia Migliora e Giorgio Vasta is assigned to Giacomo Abruzzese for Archipel. A Jury Special Prize toSarah Arnold for Leçon de ténèbres and a Special Mention goes to Carlo Michele Schirinzi for Mammaliturchi!.

«Italiana.doc» Award – Prize for the Best Italian Documentary, in the Jury Carlos Casas, Gianfranco Rosi and Ana Isabel Strindberg, is assigned to Gianluca and Massimiliano De Serio for Bakroman, motivating "The ability to unite the strength and awareness in strong film language and a detailed attention to characters". The Special Prize of the Jury goes ex-aequo to: Il popolo che manca di Andrea Fenoglio and Diego Mometti, motivating "since the charming voice of the past through the image of present

makes us question on the future" and Les champs brûlants by Stefano Canapa and Catherine Libert, motivating "for hawing managed to build an act of love for film, through the evocative and complex world of two filmmakers".

Giovanni Amelio: striving up the list we get to the competition:

Audience Best Movie Award goes to Henry by Alessandro Piva.

Torino 28 – International Full Length Film Jury, in it Marco Bellocchio (President), Barbora Bobulova, Michel Ciment, Helmut Grasser and Joe R. Lansdale, assigns the following Awards:

Best Actor Award in collaboration with "Max", goes to Omid Djalili in The Infidel by Josh Appignanesi.

Best Actress Award in collaboration with "Max", goes ex aequo to Jennifer Lawrence in Winter's Bone by Debra Granik and to Erica Rivas in Por tu culpa di Anahí Berneri.

Jury Special Prize ex aequo, to Les signes vitaux by Sophie Deraspe and Las marimbas del infierno by Julio Hernández Cordón.

Torino 28 Best Movie Award at last goes to Winter's Bone by Debra Granik.

Only one question for the Press. Do you think it's a balanced result? How do you react? What will you be writing tomorrow?

Roberto Nepoti: We always get asked who we think will win and personally I'd pointed on Winter's Bone myself and I know of others who did to.

Emanuela Martini: The Best Movie Award was given unanimously. The Prize will be handed over this evening to Marideth Sisco e Jonathan Scheuer, respectively Music Consultant and Producer.

Gianni Amelio: They stayed in Turin. Maybe they had Roberto Nepoti's same suspect.